Mid Klamath Watershed Council Staff

Directors


Will Harling: Director, Fisheries/Fire and Fuels Co-director 
– “I work closely with partner organizations, scientists, land managers, and landowners, to ensure MKWC plans and implements restoration projects that are supported by science and the community. My work as co-director of the Fire and Fuels and Fisheries Program allows me to stay connected with the realities of work on the ground, but strong leadership from Charles and Nancy within these programs allows time so I can also contribute to regional fire and fisheries forums through products like the recent documentary on prescribed burning in Northern California." 
e-mail: will@mkwc.org

Luna Latimer: Director - “I assist program directors with strategic implementation of their program’s goals and objectives. This can include securing funding, building relationships with partners and contractors, prioritizing research and monitoring to better understand the effects that our work is having, assisting with bureaucratic hurdles, creating a safe working environment, and helping tell the story of this place and our relationship to it. I communicate with the Board of Directors to ensure they have proper oversight of the organization and that we are fulfilling our mission. I oversee the administration department including creation of policies and procedures, IT support, and human resources. 
e-mail: luna@mkwc.org

Carol Earnest: Watershed Education Program Director - "I coordinate science field trips and restoration/monitoring projects for local youth, including salmon spawner surveys, fish passage work days, invasive plant removal, brush bundling, garden workdays, and tree plantings. I also design and implement curriculum for 3rd-12th grade students on environmental topics related to the Klamath River Watershed. During the summer months, I direct the week-long overnight Klamath-Siskiyou Outdoor School, coordinate youth restoration raft trips, and am one of the youth stewardship intern crew leaders."
e-mail: carol@mkwc.org



Charles Wickman: Fisheries Program Co-Director -  e-mail: charles@mkwc.org

 

 




Erica Terence: Outreach and Development Program Director - e-mail: erica@mkwc.org

 

 


Myanna Nielsen: Administrative Director - e-mail: myanna@mkwc.org

 

 


Nancy Bailey: Fire and Fuels Program Co-Director - “As part of Fire and Fuels I coordinate planning and implementation of brushing projects on private property in the area. The objectives are wildlife habitat restoration, creating a fire-safe community, and preparing areas for broadcast burns, as we move toward our vision of returning historic fire regimes to the landscape. The MKWC’s Roads Program, still in its infancy, will continue to grow as funding is secured for roads assessments and projects to implement road restoration, aimed at reducing and protecting against excessive sediment delivery into our streams and rivers. As director of the Native Plant Program, I coordinate summertime seed collecting for restoration projects and facilitate MKWC involvement in the collaborative “Karuk Native Plant Demonstration Garden” which is located behind the clinic in Orleans.”
e-mail: nancy@mkwc.org

Ramona Taylor: Foodsheds Program Director - e-mail: ramona@mkwc.org

 

Tanya Chapple: Plants Program Director - e-mail: tanya@mkwc.org

 

 

 

Project Coordinators

Arielle Halpern: Western Klamath Restoration Partnership Project (WKRP) Project Coordinator - e-mail: arielle@wkrp.network

Brendan Twieg: Technical Expert - “I assist with data collection and provide data analysis and mapping for fuels reduction and forest restoration projects in order to re-establish fires that are more frequent, less severe and more easily controlled. I also help coordinate a program between MKWC and the Karuk Tribe that aims to prevent and strategically respond to the potential arrival of the pathogen that causes sudden oak death.” 
e-mail: brendan@mkwc.org


Chris Root: Fire and Fuels Project Coordinator - 
“As the PC I do landowner coordination, install hoselays, construct fire lines, and conduct controlled burns to reduce surface fuels on private property in Orleans and Somes Bar.  I am also on the brushing crew which mechanically reduces fuels up to 10 inches in diameter to reduce surface fuel, canopy density, and prepare areas for use of controlled fire. As a MWKC staff member I work seasonally with the youth internship program, Klamath Siskiyou Outdoor School, and I work on the weeds/invasive plants crew.”
email: chris@mkwc.org


Erin Cadwell: IT Coordinator - e-mail: erin@mkwc.org

Jimmy Peterson: Fisheries Monitoring Program Coordinator/Fisheries Project Coordinator -  “I perform water quality and habitat monitoring at MKWC and partner organizations’ project sites throughout the Mid Klamath region. I assist other project coordinators in field activities and fisheries program management. I supervise fisheries field technicians on projects such as MKWC’s fish passage improvement project and cooperative Fall Chinook spawner surveys. 
e-mail: jimmy@mkwc.org


Laura Jaffe-Stender: Watershed Education Project Coordinator - e-mail: laura@mkwc.org






Michael Max Hentz: Fire and Fuels and Fisheries Project Coordinator - 
“I work in multiple roles within the Fire & Fuels, Plants and Fisheries programs. I am involved in long term MKWC projects including the Western Klamath Restoration Project and the Klamath River Prescribed Fire Training Exchange (TREX). Ongoing field work includes fuels reduction and prescribed fire planning and implementation on private lands, invasive weed eradication, repeat photo-monitoring as well as fisheries surveys and fisheries restoration activities. I live with my wife Serena and son Ray Vincent in the Elk Creek watershed and graduated from Humboldt State University in 1995 (B.S. Natural Resources).”
e-mail: michaelmax@mkwc.org

Michael Stearns: Panamnik Building Coordinator - “I coordinate the Panamnik Building by managing finances and payments, planning and implementing building and property repairs and improvements, working with Fundraising Coordinator on events, coordinating with other staff on support of all programs and their uses of the PB, and some sundry bookkeeping duties such as MKWC's retirement plan.”
e-mail: michael@mkwc.org



Mitzi Wickman:
 Fisheries Project Coordinator, GIS Specialist - “I assist in the design and implementation of fisheries restoration projects as well as conduct fish, water quality, and topographic surveys. I also create maps for these surveys using ArcGIS.”
e-mail: mitzi@mkwc.org

Administrative Staff

 

Amanda Rudolph: Administrative Assistant/Accounts Payable - email: amanda@mkwc.org







Blythe Reis: Administrator, Events Coordinator - email: blythe@mkwc.org







Heather Campbell: Grants Administrator, Wildlife Program Director - “I assist program directors and coordinators in all programs and ensure the smooth running of the office. Among other things I engage in fieldwork, project coordination and assistance, book keeping, and office management.”
email: heather@mkwc.org



Leslie Laird: Payroll Specialist - email: lesli@mkwc.org





Annabelle Potvin: Office Assistant - email: annabelle@mkwc.org

Beverly Yip: Office Assistant - email: beverly@mkwc.org

Pamela Mattz: Office Assistant, Watershed Education Program Assistant - email: pamela@mkwc.org






Rachel Budai: Office Assistant - email: rachel@mkwc.org

 






Field Technicians, Program Assistants, & Crew Leaders

 

Alan Crockett: Fisheries Senior Field Technician - 

Amber McVicar: Plants Field Technician - email: amber@mkwc.org

Andrew Somers: Fire and Fuels Field Technician - 

Brandon Tripp: Fire and Fuels Field Technician - 

Brent Boykin: Fisheries Field Technician - 

Charley Reed: Fisheries and Fire and Fuels Field Technician - 

Devin Finegan: Fire and Fuels Field Technician - 

Eric Nelson: Fire and Fuels Crew Leader - email: eric@mkwc.org







Esther Andrews: Fire and Fuels Field Technician - 

Florance Condos: Fisheries Field Technician - 

Geena Talley: Fisheries Field Technician - 

George Vest: Fire and Fuels Field Technician - 

Jess McLaughlin: Fire and Fuels Field Technician - 

Mark Dupont: Foodsheds Program Senior Technician, Fire and Fuels Field Technician - email: mark@mkwc.org






Maya Mollier: Fisheries Crew Leader - 

Micah McCovey: Restoration Intern - 

Pamela Ward: Panamnik Building Custodian - 

Rachel Krasner: Fisheries Field Technician - 

Rebecca Lawrence: Watershed Education Program Assistant - email: rebecca@mkwc.org

Ronald Reed: Fire and Fuels Crew Leader and Fisheries Field Technician - email: rony@mkwc.org

Rudy Galindo: Field Technician (multiple programs) - rudy@mkwc.org

Shauna Mayfield: Plants Field Technician - 

Tai Kim: Fisheries Field Technician - 

Tony Dennis: Senior Field Technician - email: tony@mkwc.org









2017 Stewardship Interns

2017 Stewardship Interns


Autumn Allgier
Andrea McLane
Cher-ere Cooper
Daniel Woodman
Ella Galindo
Euriah Hendrickson
Roots Galindo
Tashawna Brink 

2017 Restoration Intern

Micah McCovey

Will Harling
Luna Latimer
Carol Earnest
Charles Wickman
Erica Terence
Myanna Nielsen
Brendan Twieg
Jimmy Peterson
Laura Jaffe-Stender
Michael Max Hentz
Michael Stearns
Mitzi Wickman
Amanda Rudolph
Blythe Reis
Heather Campbell
Lesli Laird
Pamela Mattz
Eric Nelson
Tony